Farming

In all honesty, I think the farming in Tribes 2 are a HUGE part of what has always made the game so awesome. It adds so much variety, and a need for tactics to the game. It just amazes me sometimes how so many people neglect proper farming. I'm not saying I'm an expert at farming, but I at least understand the basics. So here's my shot at a quick guide.

I. Why Farm?

Okay, farming is like a HUGE part of base defense, and without proper defenses set up, you can pretty much kiss the match goodbye. It annoys me how score whores just focus on killing and offense so much. It usually leaves the one person trying to play as a team to farm. And farming alone really SUCKS.

Anyways, you farm to protect your base, and without the turrets / sensors / other defenses, you just can't do it. No matter how skilled. I hear people talking about the Rape Train, and how you just can't stop it.. I disagree. If you have I say 3-4 good farmers on a team, forget it, the gens and flags stay PUT.

MPBs (if available) / Inventory Stations -

These should be the first thing you set up. They help put more spots for your team to hurry and gear up, and usually are in a more convenient area for them as well. For invs, keep them easy to reach, but hidden and safe from the onslaught. Don't put them out in the open, they die easy, and are a very tempting point bonus for your attackers. These also come in quite handy should your Gens go down.

Base Turrets -

The ones that come standard in the map. These are a big part of your first line of defense and need to be in working order at all times. STAY AWAY FROM THE MORTAR. I seriously HATE mortar turrets, I don't see why ANYONE uses them! If you are trying to properly farm with small turrets, sensors, and what not DON'T PUT UP A MORTAR TURRET! It only shoots at the enemy, no matter where they are! Nothing F***S up a good set up like a Mortar turret!