help with aiming?

hey people, i'm new to this game.

I've been playing single player verse bots, and I've done sort of okay (!), so i decided to try multiplayer. bad idea lol, extremely fast paced and confusing to me. i can get basic jetting and skiing, but i have really bad accuracy. i can't hit anything that's moving/flying and i can't hit anything while i'm moving quickly or flying. if i stand still for a second to aim someone lands a mortar on my lap too. so are there any tricks to this? or just practice.

Comments

• edited April 2011
    Practice first. The only "trick" would be interpolate script, but since you haven't large ping, its not necessary at beggining - it would annoy you rather than help right now.

As you wrote, you try to stop and aim, wich is usually wrong. It's better to get in air and then shoot at enemy on ground. It's much easier to hit in the right place from air, than from ground. Try to avoid non-sure shoots, like trying to hit anything with disc/plasma in air. Ground shoots are more effective, besides snipe, shocklance, chaingun (non splash, fast projectile weapons). Force enemy to be on ground when projectile hits or be in air when enemy is on ground, and then you're suppose to have decent kill ratio.

Always remember that projectiles inherits your velocity at specific rate, eg. chaingun bullets inherit 100% of your velocity, grenade launcher 85%, disc 50%, plasma 20% (values form Classic mod) etc. You need to practice and find out how it affects your aim.
  • Get light epack, stay at your base and lob grenades from grenade launcher.

You'll die a lot - it's just part of learning Tribes. Top notch players die 20 times/hr in pubs and normal players are somewhere between 25 - 55 deaths/hr.