Limiting access to the server

Hello Tribes next attracted me because of the open source nature of the code, i am not a programmer by trade but i am wondering if the source code available for the tribesNext server could be modified so that only a list of preapproved IP addresses, or ingame names would be able to login to the server. Sort of like a guest list in which only users on the list would be able to join the server. This would be more complex than just putting a password on the server, it would require a successful join to be based on the users IP or ingame name to be included on a list.

Secondly, could the code be modified to export the player stats and game stats at the end of each game?

I tried to message the develoer directly but i am a new member and require at least 3 posts first.

thanks all. ::)

Comments

• Hello Tribes next attracted me because of the open source nature of the code, i am not a programmer by trade but i am wondering if the source code available for the tribesNext server could be modified so that only a list of preapproved IP addresses, or ingame names would be able to login to the server. Sort of like a guest list in which only users on the list would be able to join the server. This would be more complex than just putting a password on the server, it would require a successful join to be based on the users IP or ingame name to be included on a list.

Secondly, could the code be modified to export the player stats and game stats at the end of each game?

I tried to message the develoer directly but i am a new member and require at least 3 posts first.

thanks all. ::)
    Firstly, yes, it's possible to do what you are thinking of, although a password seems the easier way to go as the other reason would actually take work. Also, yes, stats can be exported. See Tribes2Stats.com and TribalOutpost.com/t2stats.

rJay